Skip to content
February 16, 2013 / samrobinsoncoppice

second photo shoot at CANW work day.

IMG_1273

grace

grace

Helen elvin, having a great time.

Helen elvin, having a great time.

louis, tony and dave.

louis, tony and dave.

tony morgan just after drinking facist tea. (andy at the work day mentioned that earl grey himself was apparently a facist, which is why andy wont drink it- that and the fact he thinks it has a rubbish taste.

tony morgan just after drinking facist tea. (andy at the work day mentioned that earl grey himself was apparently a facist, which is why andy wont drink it- that and the fact he thinks it has a rubbish taste.

heath and safety officer ian taylor.

heath and safety officer ian taylor.

everyone who came to the work day having a brew.

everyone who came to the work day having a brew.

Another one hung up, just moved it back with a stick (eventually!).

Another one hung up, just moved it back with a stick (eventually!).

IMG_1260

New axe, re handled and ground. It was really good to use looking forward to using it more. its a four pound ellwell so its got more umph than my other 3 pounder but isnt too wieghty like my 5 and half pound gilpin (also re ground and nice to use now- same shaft it came with which is bit too long but gives me a good big swing on it but still a bit heavy for a full day).

New axe, re handled and ground. It was really good to use looking forward to using it more. its a four pound ellwell so its got more umph than my other 3 pounder but isnt too wieghty like my 5 and half pound gilpin (also re ground and nice to use now- same shaft it came with which is bit too long but gives me a good big swing on it but still a bit heavy for a full day).

IMG_1255 IMG_1254

Snedding.

Snedding.

IMG_1252

this tree went a bit badly, despite the lay of the tree being subtley the opposite way to which the main trunk leant, it fell back onto the back cut (rather than gob). The gob was as big as usual (just over half) but obviously not big enough! this is me looking a bit bemused, about to jump into the safe area to my left!

this tree went a bit badly, because the lay of the tree was subtley the opposite way to which the main trunk leant, it fell back onto the back cut (rather than gob). The gob was as big as usual (just over half) but obviously not big enough! this is me looking a bit bemused, about to jump into the safe area to my left!

IMG_1250

I tool another series of felling/ dressing out pictures which will be on my website soon.

I took another series of felling/ dressing out pictures which will be on my website soon.

IMG_1244 IMG_1243 IMG_1242 IMG_1241

felling birch at Moss and Hieghts work day. the weather was beautifull and there was alot of progress made both in my section (cheers dave noblet for axing with me and grace holland for dressing out on my stuff).

felling birch at Moss and Hieghts work day. the weather was beautifull and there was alot of progress made both in my section (cheers dave noblet for axing with me and grace holland for dressing out on my stuff).

Leave a Reply

